Skip to main content of main site

AAP response on suspension of Bhagwant Mann from winter session of Parliament

Aam Aadmi Party response on suspension of its parliamentary party leader Bhagwant Mann from ongoing winter session of Parliament : 


The Aam Aadmi Party views the suspension of its parliamentary party leader Bhagwant Mann from the Lok Sabha for the ongoing winter session of parliament as a cruel attempt to silence of voice of smaller parties in Parliament through an act of miscarriage of justice. 

It is a sad day for parliamentary democracy in India, since an elected MP has been deprived from raising issues of the voters who elected him for two sessions, without any justification. 

It is highly regrettable that the motion to suspend Bhagwant Mann was adopted in the din when the Lok Sabha was not in order.    

It is beyond any reasonable understanding as to why Mann has been kept away from attending the Lok Sabha proceedings for two consecutive sessions since 21st July. 

What is intriguing that despite having committed no mistake, in maintaining highest respect for the hon’ble Lok Sabha Speaker and the House, Mann had tendered an apology after his act of innocently filming his route to Parliament was objected to, it was still decided to constitute a committee to punish him.  

The sequence leading to formation of the committee had appeared to be pre-planned with MPs belonging to BJP, SAD and Congress coming together in demanding handing of stringent punishment to Mann. 

Member after Member was allowed in the House on 22nd July to pronounce Mann guilty and declare quantum of punishment as well in the supreme legislative body of the country, but despite being present in the House, Mann was not even allowed to place his views. 

On 22 July, 2016, going by the official records of Lok Sabha, hon’ble Members Dr Kirit Somaiya, R.K. Singh, Bhartruhari Mahtab, Mallikarjuna Kharge, Anandrao Adsul and Prem Singh Chandumajra had pronounced Mann guilty. Some of them sought his suspension and some even went to the extent of demanding his summary expulsion from the Membership of the House. 

In the committee formed to decide Mann’s fate,  Dr Kirit Somaiya, Shri Anandrao Adsul and Shri Bhartruhari Mahtab - who had either presumed that Mann was guilty or had given notices against him  - were nominated members of the Inquiry Committee. Some other hon’ble Members who were vocal in seeking instant justice on 22 July, 2016 on the floor of the House were also honoured with the task of conducting this fair probe. To top it all, Shri Kirit Somaiya, who was on record demanding Mann’s summary expulsion from the Membership of the House on 22 July, 2016 was duly appointed as Chairperson of the Committee. 

Further the hon’ble Lok Sabha Speaker had advised Bhagwant Mann to stay away from the House proceedings till his matter was decided by the Committee appointed by her, though it was not made public under which rule he was asked not to attend the proceedings. 

Make a Donation